Euro-Par 2024 | Organization | International European Conference on Parallel and Distributed Computing OrganizationEuro-par

The Euro-Par Steering Committee

The steering committee (SC) is the governing body of Euro-Par. Among its responsibilities are to appreciate the bids received and select the future conference sites, appoint the general chair and program chair of future conferences, oversee the planning of the yearly conferences and maintain the continuity of the series. Drawing from a wide range of experience in running Euro-Par and aiming to make the committee more open and dynamic, new rules of membership were approved at the 2023 SC meeting. In short, they are as follows:

  • When a bid for organizing the conference is granted, one central member of the organization team joins the steering committee as full member with a term of 7 years.
  • Other full members are invited by the committee from the "community at large" based on merit and prior connection with Euro-Par, possibly with specific responsibilities. Their term is 5 years.
  • Honorary members are appointed for life by the steering committee.
  • The chair of the steering committee is elected by the committee for a term of 3 years, and can be re-elected at most once in consecutive terms.
  • A full member loses membership status if two consecutive SC meetings have been missed.

The Advisory Committee is composed of senior researchers invited by the chair/vice-chair with a mission to provide recommendations on issues related to Euro-Par. They participate as guests in the steering committee meetings and their term ends with the election of a new chair/vice-chair.

Full Members

Honorary Members

  • Christian Lengauer   (University of Passau, Germany)
  • Luc Bougé (ENS Rennes, France)
  • Ron Perrott (Oxford e-Research Centre, United Kingdom)
  • Karl Dieter Reinartz   (University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany)

Advisory Committee

Supported by

In cooperation

Organized by

Academic supporters

Awards support